Skip to main content

Students Honored For Undergraduate Achievements

Print PagePrint Page

At Tropaia Exercises Friday, May 15, the Georgetown University McDonough School of Business community gathered to honor seniors for their academic and service achievements.

During the ceremony, valedictorian Evan Fierstein, who had the highest grade-point average for the entire class of 2015, asked his classmates to reflect on the good fortune that brought them to Gaston Hall on the eve of their Georgetown graduation.

“When we reflect on the incredible people we have met and the formative experiences we have had at this place, we become aware of just how fortunate we are,” he said. “We owe so much to the situational forces that have allowed us to reach this point in life, that have given us the privilege to spend these past four years at Georgetown.”

The future investment banker said he feels a moral obligation to fulfill the Georgetown tenet of being women and men for others.

“It doesn’t matter that much what any of us do. The important thing is that we dedicate 100 percent of our talents and 100 percent of our abilities to our future endeavors,” he said. “We owe that much to our families, to our professors, and to Georgetown – the people who helped place us in such fortunate situations.”

Dean David A. Thomas also discussed what it means to apply the principles that define the Georgetown community to the graduates’ lives beyond the Hilltop.

“No matter where you find yourself, you will act as principled leaders willing to put others before yourself. You will have a global orientation and see the world as an interconnected community that allows you to connect to those who are different than you – those who are less fortunate than you – and you will use your business acumen and influence to always serve the interests of both business and society. That is the larger project of which you are now a part.”

During Tropaia, the Undergraduate Program and academic leadership of the school recognized many individuals and groups for their achievements. Many students were inducted into honor societies this year, including Alpha Mu Alpha (22 students), Alpha Sigma Nu (5 students), Beta Gamma Sigma (31 students), the Financial Management Association National Honor Society (19 students), Phi Lambda Beta (3 students), and Theta Alpha Kappa (2 students). Students graduating with academic honors also were recognized.

Additional awards included:

Academic Honors

Valedictorian Award
Evan C. Fierstein, 3.99 grade-point average

Salutatorian Award
Diego A. Bacci, 3.981

Reverend Joseph S. Sebes, S.J. Award
Christopher F. Cannataro and Justin F. Chapman

Othmar Winkler Award
Viviana Jaramillo Balbin

Africa Prize for the Most Outstanding Senior Thesis (from the School of Foreign Service)
Masika Lewis

Awards in Accounting

Deloitte Award for Accounting Excellence
Elizabeth McCarthy Alfano

George Houston Accounting Achievement Award
Thomas L. Chin and Timothy J. White

Accounting Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Cody M. Donald

Georgetown Accounting Society Award for Service and Excellence
Alisha S. Daga, Christophorus C. Hartanto, and Lauren A. Lee

Melissa Hoffman-Galasso Award
Christopher F. Cannataro

Awards in Finance

Finance Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Diego A. Bacci

Robert and Lauren Steers Award for Excellence in Real Estate Finance
Evan C. Fierstein

Michael G. Psaros Award for Excellence in Investments
John H. Metz

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in Finance
Charles J. Kim

Center for Financial Markets & Policy Award for Achievement in International Finance
Joshua B. Milgrom

Award for Achievement in Banking
Justin F. Chapman

Award for Achievement in Corporate Finance
Hayeon Lee

Award for Achievement in Financial Services
Michal P. Grabias

Credit Suisse Award for Excellence in Finance
Alexandria M. Ciejka

Financial Management Association Award for Service
Jessica L. Chen, Pierre F. Lapeyre III, and Lauren A. Lee

Awards in International Business

Interlink Capital Strategies International Business Scholar Award
Steven D. Criss

Ilkka A. Ronkainen Award for International Business and Marketing
Alexa L. Cotcamp

International Business Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Abdullah Al-Bawardy

Awards in Management

Elutions, Inc. Award for Academic Excellence in Management Studies
Mark N. Engelberg

NFI Industries Award for Academic Excellence in Management Studies
Sean T. Foley

Gannett Award for Academic Excellence in Negotiation, Arbitration, and Labor Relations
Gabriella S. Doucas

Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service Award for Academic Excellence in Negotiation, Mediation, and Alternative Dispute Resolution
Christopher V. McCauliffe

William J. Curtin Award for Academic Excellence in Leadership
Kathryn M. Stuke

Swift Glass Company Award for Academic Excellence in Innovation
Lauren E. Spak

Management Faculty Award for Academic Excellence in Human Capital and Human Resource Management
John H. Schumacher III

Awards in Marketing

Johny K. Johansson International Marketing Award
Christina E. Collins

IMAX Marketing Research Award
Daniel J. Sansweet and Laura A. Kelly

IMAX Marketing Scholar Award
Mitchell B. Allen

Marketing Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Scott F. Ruona

Awards in Operations and Information Management

Deloitte Award for Service in Operations and Information Management
Sofia Galatas

PricewaterhouseCoopers Award for Service and Scholarship in Operations and Information Management
Pauline T. Huynh

Operations and Information Management Faculty Award for Academic Excellence
Diego A. Bacci

Faculty Awards

Faculty Research Award
Jess Cornaggia

Joseph F. LeMoine Award for Undergraduate and Graduate Teaching Excellence
Melissa Bradley

Dean’s Distinguished Service Award
Patricia Fairfield

Peter W. Gonzalez, Jr. Award for Excellence in Adjunct Faculty Teaching
Michael Ryan

Academic Council Professor of the Year Student Choice Award
Charles Skuba